Conservation Reserve
Enhancement Program (CREP)

Restoring Stream Health by Renee Hadley, Walla Walla Co. Conservation District

What is CREP?

CREP engages farmland owners as partners in restoring salmon habitat.

Farmers are compensated for voluntarily planting native vegetation along salmon-bearing streams, rather than crops. Vegetation forms a buffer between agricultural land and salmon streams, keeping water clean and cool for salmon. Riparian buffers are preserved under 10-15 year renewable contracts.

Project costs are paid for by the program. The program also provides oversight and maintenance for five years after planting to ensure that trees and vegetation grow healthy and strong.  

Landowners are paid rent for the acreage they restore, and they receive a monetary bonus for enrolling in the program. This makes CREP a win-win for Washington farms and fish.   

CREP is a voluntary program administered at the federal-level by the Farm Service Agency (FSA), at the state-level by the State Conservation Commission (SCC), and at the local level by conservation districts.  

Accomplishments

Since its inception in 1999, CREP has voluntarily engaged landowners with:

  • Enhancing salmon habitat along over 925 miles of stream — that’s the distance from Seattle to the Grand Canyon!
  • Planting nearly six million trees, and each one benefits soil, air, and water quality.
  • Constructing over 280 miles of fence to keep livestock away from salmon streams — that's the distance from Bellingham to Pullman!
  • Enrolling over 207,000 acres in the program — that's almost enough to cover all of Mount Rainier National Park.

Read this Success Story Snapshot about CREP in the Tucannon River to see an example of accomplishments on the ground.

Results

  • CREP plants are growing and surviving well with growth ranging from 10.6 to 29.3″ per year, and site survival averaging 75-90%.
  • Cooling summer water temperatures for salmon is an important goal for CREP. CREP sites that are 5-10 years old are already averaging 72% canopy cover along small streams. This is a remarkable result!
  • In areas with high levels of CREP participation, water temperature have cooled by as much as 10 degrees Fahrenheit.

CREP buffer along Kamm Creek flowing into the Nooksack River. Photo by John Gillies, Natural Resources Conservation Service

Changing the Face of the Landscape

“CREP has changed the landscape in Whatcom County” (Wayne Chaudiere, Whatcom Conservation District). Riparian buffers, such as the one shown in the photo, now span along 132 miles of stream in Whatcom County, forming a panorama of native tree and shrub forests that were just recently open fields or invasive plant species such as blackberry.

Learn More

CREP Eligibility & How to Apply

Access the following resources to learn more about CREP eligibility and how to apply.

What other ways do CREP buffers benefit farms?

Erosion Control

CREP buffers stabilize stream banks and provide a protective barrier against moving water.

Flood Mitigation

Buffer vegetation increases water infiltration and slows flood waters.

Weather Protection

CREP buffers shelter fields, structures, and livestock from blowing wind and snow.

CREP Files

CREP Monitoring Reports Each year, a randomly-selected group of CREP sites is monitored by the Conservation Commission for effectiveness. Below are the links to each of the annual reports that include this monitoring:

Meet the Team

Mike Baden
Regional Manager – North Central and Northeast
509-385-7510
mbaden@scc.wa.gov
Nicole Boyes
Contracts Manager
(360) 407-6209
(564) 669-3149
nboyes@scc.wa.gov
Allisa Carlson
Regional Manager – South Central
Brian Cochrane
Habitat and Monitoring Coordinator
Jon Culp
Water Resources Program Manager
509-385-7509
jculp@scc.wa.gov
Paul D'Agnolo
Office of Farmland Preservation Specialist
(564) 669-0972
pd'agnolo@scc.wa.gov
Paige DeChambeau
Communications Director
Kate Delavan
Office of Farmland Preservation Coordinator
Bill Eller
Voluntary Stewardship Program Coordinator
509-385-7512
beller@scc.wa.gov
Jean Fike
Regional Manager – Puget Sound
360-764-0533
jfike@scc.wa.gov
Toyo Garber
Communications Specialist
(564) 669-1395
tgarber@scc.wa.gov
Josh Giuntoli
Southwest Regional Manager
360-407-7474
360-485-8538
jgiuntoli@scc.wa.gov
Lori Gonzalez
Executive Assistant
Sarah Groth
Director of Accounting and Budget
(360) 407-6205
(360) 790-3501
sgroth@scc.wa.gov
Alison Halpern, PhD
Scientific Policy Advisor
360-407-6209
360-280-5556
ahalpern@scc.wa.gov
Karla Heinitz
Policy Assistant
Karen Hills
Sustainable Farms and Fields Coordinator
(564) 669-3292
khills@scc.wa.gov
Shana Joy
Southeast Regional Manager / Regional Manager Coordinator
360-480-2078
sjoy@scc.wa.gov
Levi Keesecker
Natural Resources Scientist
Alicia McClendon
Administrative Assistant
Jack Myrick
Irrigation Efficiencies
509-301-2498
jmyrick@scc.wa.gov
Chris Pettit
Executive Director
360-789-6348
cpettit@scc.wa.gov
Thomas Schienbein
IT Policy and Planning Manager
360.407.7103
360.764.6883
tschienbein@scc.wa.gov
Ron Shultz
Director of Policy and Inter-governmental Relations
360-407-7507
rshultz@scc.wa.gov
Kate Ubermuth
Program Specialist
(360) 407-7617
(360) 878-4784
kubermuth@scc.wa.gov
Kaisha Walker
Administrative Assistant
360.407.6211
kwalker@scc.wa.gov
Sarah Wilcox
Communications Project Manager
(564) 669-1043
swilcox@scc.wa.gov
Ashley Wood
Fiscal Analyst
(360) 407-6202
(360) 878-4093
awood@scc.wa.gov
Courtney Woods
Grants Manager
(360) 407-6114
(360) 878-4520
cwoods@scc.wa.gov
Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program (CREP)

Gosnell Creek Farm and Habitat Improvement Project

Read Story
Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program (CREP)

Kamm Creek Tree Planting

Read Story